1st Year Keevans Cup – 2012/13

Share Button

Thos. O'Connor winning 1st year captain (1)

Captain Thomas O’Connor receiving the Keevan’s Cup from Luke O’Hanlon


Our first year footballers enjoyed another successful day out for the college at Páirc Garman on Wednesday 17th October. A remarkable 4 teams represented ‘The Counsel’ on a beautiful day where 16 competing teams from various schools around the county attended. The highlight of the day was presentation of the ‘Keevans Cup’ to our ‘A’ team captain Thomas O’ Connor by Mr Luke O’ Hanlon after the ‘6 in a row’ in this competition was realised by our ‘A’ panel against a competitive Enniscorthy C.B.S side. Enniscorthy C.B.S contested the ‘A’ final for the first time, which is a testament to the fanstastic work that is being done by our past pupil Mr Brendan Kehoe in the school. The final score for the ‘A’ final was 5.9-1.4. Our ‘B’ team competed well throughout the day and were unlucky to lose St Peters ‘B’ team at the semi-final stage on a scoreline of 2.5-1.3, having previously beaten Enniscorthy ‘C’ team and lost to Wexford CBS ‘A team’. Our ‘C’ team competed against ‘Wexford C.B.S ‘B’ team, Enniscorty C.B.S ‘B’ team and St Peters ‘C’ team winning all their games and coming out on top in their division. Our ‘D’ team also played the same opponents as our ‘C’ team and came out on top in their final against Enniscorthy C.B.S ‘C’ team.

Well done to all players who represented the school admirably on the day and many thanks to Mr Shaughnessey and Mr Cillian Kehoe who prepared the panels for the day. Mr Kevin Kehoe and Mr Kevin Bates mentored the teams on the day with the welcome assistance of the Wexford football development coaches. Their help on the day was much appreciated.

1st year A team (1)

‘A’ Final/Panel

Aaron Mythen(Horeswood),Darragh Hartley(Glenmore), Donal Kinsella(Gusseranne), Eamon O’ Sullivan(Horeswood), Sean Nolan(Horeswood), Jack Byrne Doyle(Mullinavat), Richard Hennessey(Glenmore), Cyril Prendergast(Horeswood),Thomas O’ Connor(Tullogher/Rosbercon, Gavin Sheehan(Gusseranne), Jamie Meyler(St James), Phillip Foley(Our Lady’s Island), Sean Keating(Cloughbawn), Oisín Knox(Mullinavat), Dylan Whitty(Horeswood)Séamas Murphy(Gusseranne), Phillip Walsh(St Martins), Jack Power.

Scorers; Thomas O’ Comnnor(1-2), Gavin Sheehan(0-1), Jamie Meyler(3-3), Phillip Foley(0-1), (Oisín Knox(0-2), Dylan Whitty(1-0)

Man of the match; Jamie Meyler(St James)

1st year b team (1)

‘B’ Panel

Donal Kinsella, Michael Galavan, Alex Hatt, Thomas Banville, Kieran Cooney, Oisín Foran, Dylan Hogan Freeman, Sean Keating, Kevin Donoghue, Darragh Reddy, Martin Kinsella, David Murphy, Jack Walsh, Andy Breen, Sean Costello, Mark Murphy, Michael Cleere, Barry Roche, Shane Delaney, Adam Fitzgerald, Mark McGrath, David O’ Connor, Eoin Pilkington, Padraig Pilkington, Oisín Rooney, Daniel Lindell, Diarmuid Kehoe.

1st Year c team (1) 1st year D team (1)

‘C’ & ‘D’ Panel

Niall O’ Byrne, Michael Dunleavy, Danny Byrne, Conor Lynch, Steven Whelan, Daniel Dempsey, James Dempsey, James Dempsey, Shane Lyng, Joe Dowling, Charlie Murphy, Ben Sutton, Danny Sheehy, Aaron Tynan, Oisín Aylward, Adam Knight, Ryan Byrne, Sean Dunne, Evan Murphy, Thomas Furlong, Sean Holden, Brian Dillon, Shane Walsh, Richard Foley, Robbie Fitzgerald, Conor Dalton, Eddie Wall, Sean O’ Neill.

Share Button