1st Year Keevans Cup 2010-11

Share Button

Corn Ui Chaomhain  ( Keevans Cup)

1st Year Football Blitz

The ‘Corn Uí Chaomhain’ (Keevans Cup) first year football blitz took part on Wednesday 13th October in Páirc Gharman. The eight teams competing were Enniscorthy C.B.S., St Peters College ‘A’ & ‘B’, Ramsgrange C.S.,Gorey C.S., Wexford C.B.S. and Good Counsel College ‘A’ & ‘B’. Seamas Keevans would indeed have been proud of the large attendance at the event with an impressive amount of first year footballers eager to represent their schools on the day.

Teams were divided into two groups of four.  On one side of the draw were Good Counsel College ‘B’, Enniscorthy C.B.S., Ramsgrange C.S and St Peters ‘A’, while on the other side were Good Counsel College ‘A’, St Peters ‘B’, Gorey C.S. and Wexford C.B.S. After some very exciting games on each side of the draw Good Counsel College’s ‘A’ team progressed to the semi-final against Enniscorthy C.B.S while Good Counsel College’s ‘B’ team, who had surprisingly managed to beat the St Peter Colleges ‘A’ team along the way, progressed to the other semi-final against Wexford C.B.S. After two cracking games both Good Counsel College teams progressed to the final for the first time in the competitions history. The Shield final between Enniscorthy C.B.S and Gorey C.S resulted in a victory for Enniscorthy C.B.S on a scoreline of 2.10-1.5.

The Cup final proved to be the best game of the day with Good Counsel College ‘A’ team coming out on top by a single point. After going in 2-4 to 1.0 down after the first half the ‘B’ team did well to fight back and level the scores deep into injury time. After a dubious free was awarded to the ‘A’ team, Mikey Dwyer (the Captain of the ‘A’ team) stepped up to the task and calmly slotted the ball over the bar to give his team ultimate victory. The final scoreline was Good Counsel College ‘A’ 3-8, Good Counsel College ‘B’ 4-4.

Luke O Hanlon, who coordinated the Blitz, presented the ‘Corn Uí Chaomhain’ trophy to Good Counsel captain Mikey Dwyer(Fethard) and paid a fitting tribute to the late Seamas Keevans for all the work he put into organising the first year blitzs for many years. He also thanked referees, James Flood, Eric Molloy, Brian O Leary and James Murray for their excellent work on the day. The Good Counsel Teams for the final were…..

‘A’ Team;

1.Peter Farrell(Rathnure)2.Martin Doyle(Fethard)3.Adam Winters(Taghmon) 4.Conor Crosbie(Ramsgrange)5.Seán Barden(Adamstown)6.Daragh Joyce(Rower Inistioge)7.Eoin Higgins(Rathnure)8.Ian Carthy(Taghmon)9.Ronan Waters(Gussserane)10.Joe Sutton(Fethard)11.Paul Manning(Tulllogher)12.Richie Waters(Fethard)13.Clem Rossiter(Bannow)14.Mikey Dwyer(Fethard)15.Donagh O Connor(Cushinstown).

Subs; 16.Maurice Walsh(St Martins)17.Barry Óg McGrath(Taghmon),18.Robert Kehoe(Cushinstown)19.Ryan Harris(Horeswood)

Scorers; Mikey Dwyer(1-4),Paul Manning(1-1),Donagh O Connor(1-1),Daragh Joyce(0-2)

‘B’ Team

1.Bryan Grace(Rower Inistioge)2.Donal Kiely(Gusserane)3.John Roche(Gusserane)4.Ciaran Conway5.Daire McGrath6.Adam Mansfield(Mullinavat)7.Evan Murphy(Adamstown)8.Robert Whitty(Cloughbawn)9.Jack Burford(Gusserane)10.Martin Fitzharris(Gusserane)11.Jason Dunne(Cushinstown)12.Mark Rossiter(Gusserane)13.Ronan Whelan(Cushinstown)14.Patrick Carthy(Ger O Hans)15.Daire Bolger(Cushinstown)

Subs; 16.Dylan Farrell(Rower Inistioge)17.Alan Lambert(Rathnure)18.Jack Costello(Fethard)19.Mark O Neill(Gusserane)20.Daniel Holden(Mullinavat)21.Damian Aylward(Mullinavat)22.Christopher Molloy(Fethard)23.Eddie Cummins(Horeswood)

Scorers; Rob Whitty(2-0),Jason Dunne(1-3),Mark Rossiter(1-0),Alan Lambert(0-1)

1st Year A Team (2)

>Above and below are the 2 Good Counsel College teams who contested the Keevans Cup Final.
1st Year B Team (2)



Mikey Dwyer and Darragh Joyce receive the cup from Luke O’Hanlon.

Share Button